Blog Break: Death Valley Marathon

My parents, sisters and I reunited in Death Valley National Park for the annual Death Valley Marathon this past weekend! I attempted to run my first full marathon but left the race at 13.25 miles due to some serious dehydration.  I mean, I finished my 4th HALF-marathon, so I’m trying to focus on that. Anyways, my focus on brunch was not as acute as it usually is (besides, you know, replenishing calorie stores).  Still, I thought I’d share some pictures of the weekend and of course, my post-13.25-mile-run breakfast.

Processed With Darkroom

The running route went right through the park, from Furnace Creek to Salt Creek and back.  The landscape was breathtaking.  Despite needing to drop out, I’m so grateful to have run in this beautiful place!

Processed With Darkroom

The morning after the run, we woke up early (thank you, time change) and saw the sunrise over Zabriskie point.  Facing west, you can see such beautiful hues against the rocky hills.

Processed With Darkroom

Facing East at Zabriskie, with the sun peeking over the mountains.

Processed With Darkroom

I felt much better (read: fully hydrated) in the morning and felt so blessed to be in Death Valley with my family.

Processed With Darkroom

My simple yet delicious breakfast at our Inn.  Of course, I added Tapatio.

Processed With Darkroom

My mother and little sister ran the 10K while my dad and I attempted the marathon (he successfully completed it, his NINTH marathon.  #Hero) and my older sister was the support squad.  Needless to say, we were very hungry and absolutely DEMOLISHED brunch.  The love for breakfast runs in the family.

Do you have any fun trips coming up? Tell me what you’re looking forward to this year in the comments!

One thought on “Blog Break: Death Valley Marathon

Leave a comment